Have I Convinced You Yet?

I’ll admit at the beginning of this semester I was skeptical of social media’s role in my life much less in anything else. All I had ever thought social media was about was wasting time or trying to make yourself look good. So for this post I decided to look up some statistics for what role social media played in nonprofits. Here are the results of my findings.

  1. 41% of nonprofits attribute their social media success to having developed a detailed social media strategy.
  2.  92% of nonprofits are using social media, blogging, email, and videos for their content marketing efforts.
  3. 47% of Americans learn about causes via social media and online channels.
  4. Animals, children, and health & wellness are the most shared and talked about causes on social media.
  5.  56% of those that support nonprofits on the Social Web confirm that compelling storytelling is what motivates them to take action on behalf of nonprofits.
  6. 55% of those who engage with nonprofits via social media have been inspired to take further action.
  7. The number of followers nonprofits have on Twitter grew by 264% in 2012.
  8. The average social media donation is $59 and growing each year.
  9.  Using Twitter during fundraising events can result in 10X more money raised online.
  10. 59% of people donate after becoming a follower of a nonprofit’s social network.

 

So these are my top ten facts that I found that were most interesting about social media use and nonprofits. Some of them shocked me others I was not surprised at all. My information came from NonProfit Tech For Good, Techimpact, and HubSpot.

Curious about ways to display stuff like this? Check this out.

What do you think? Find anything surprising? Comment below or hit me up on Twitter @MollieTranum.

 

Leave a Reply

